URSI Commission B
International Symposium on Electromagnetic Theory (EMTS 2016)

14–18 August 2016 in Espoo, Finland


Technical Program Available

The detailed technical program is now available. (Updated May 17)

Acceptance Notifications and Final Paper Submission

The acceptance notification e-mails were sent on April 29, 2016.

The deadline for final paper submission and author registration is May 31, 2016.

EMTS 2016 Special Issue

The “Special Issue of the 2016 URSI Commission B International Symposium on Electromagnetic Theory” is planned to be published in the journal Radio Science in 2017. This special issue is a traditional and very important activity by Commission B. The details will be announced later.

Welcome Message

The International Symposium on Electromagnetic Theory (EMTS 2016) will be held 14–18 August 2016 in Espoo, Finland. It will be organized by the Commission B (Fields and Waves) of the International Union of Radio Science (URSI) and Aalto University. EMTS 2016 is the 22nd event in the triennial series of international EMT symposia which has a long history since 1953. Its scope covers all areas of electromagnetic theory and its applications, and it is the major scientific event of the Commission B, along with the URSI General Assembly and Scientific Symposium.

Welcome to Finland in August 2016!

Ari Sihvola, ari.sihvola@aalto.fi
Chairman of the Finnish National Committee of URSI
Aalto University
Department of Radio Science and Engineering

History of EMTS Meetings
1. Toronto, Canada 1953
2. Michigan, USA 1956
3. Toronto, Canada 1959
4. Copenhagen, Denmark 1962
5. Delft, Netherlands 1965
6. Stresa, Italy 1968
7. Tbilisi, USSR 1971
8. London, UK 1974
9. Stanford, USA 1977
10. Munich, Germany 1980
11. Santiago de Compostela, Spain 1983
12. Budapest, Hungary 1986
13. Stockholm, Sweden 1989
14. Sydney, Australia 1992
15. St. Petersburg, Russia 1995
16. Thessaloniki, Greece 1998
17. Victoria, Canada 2001
18. Pisa, Italy 2004
19. Ottawa, Canada 2007
20. Berlin, Germany 2010
21. Hiroshima, Japan 2013
22. Espoo, Finland 2016
23. San Diego, USA 2019